Club Sports

Club Sports Office
Plourde Recreation Center
508-767-7469

The Assumption College Club Sports Program is a division of the Campus Recreation Office.  Each Club Sport is developed, governed and managed by its student membership in collaboration with the Campus Recreation Administrative Staff.  The key to the success of this program, and each club, is student leadership, interest, involvement and participation.

Club Sports are student organizations established to promote and develop individual interest in various sports and recreational activities. Club Sports may be instructional, recreational, or competitive in nature. Assumption's Club Sports are designed to promote growth in leadership, responsibility, decision making, public relations, organization and fiscal management, as well as specific sport-related skills. All Club Sports are student-run by an elected executive board.

Students in each Club are responsible for the internal organization and conduct of their Club activities. Therefore, the success and strength of the Club Sports program depends upon the initiative, motivation, and leadership of the officers and the involvement of Club members. The management and organization of a Club Sport is an educational experience providing many opportunities for student growth. Each Club Sport drafts their constitution and by-laws; conducts meetings; establishes dues to offset expenditures; plans fund raising projects; coordinate practices, competition and special events; publicize events; and collaborate with other members to develop a successful program. No Club may restrict its membership on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, age, sexual orientation or disability.

What is a Club Sport?

A Club Sport is defined as a recognized student organization, which exists to promote and develop interest in a particular sport or physical activity. A Club may be instructional, recreational or competitive, or may be involved in any combination of these elements. Club Sports are strictly voluntary. The hope is that involvement in a Club Sport enhances the students’ college experience and adds value to the students’ overall education.

Club Sports provide athletic opportunities through administration by the Campus Recreation Office as a student organization. Participation can be comprised of all co-ed, men, or women. There are three (3) levels of Club Sports:

  1. RECREATIONAL – Scheduled practice time for program instruction. Activity by group is for fun and relaxation.
  2. INSTRUCTIONAL – Scheduled practice time and program instruction as student interest warrants. Tournament opportunities could be available, though not necessarily required.  Skill level can range from beginner to advance.
  3. COMPETITIVE – Scheduled competitive meets with other Club Sports or sub-varsity programs with any institution, requires coach(s), establishes a regular practice schedule, and develops on-going fundraising activities through outside sources. Enhanced level of skill development, fundraising and administration.

2017-18 Club Sports Captains List:

Sport Title Name Grad Year E-mail
Cheerleading Captain Emily Barker 2018 emily.barker@assumption.edu
Cheerleading Co-Captain Kristi McCarthy 2019 kristi.mccarthy@assumption.edu
Dance Captain Noella Teylan-Cashman Graduate noella.teylancashman@assumption.edu
Dance Co-Captain Haley McCormick 2019

haley.mccormick@assumption.edu

Dance  Spirit Captain Lauren Piette 2019 lauren.piette@assumption.edu
Equestrian Captain Kylie Fitzgerald 2019 kylie.fitzgerald@assumption.edu
Equestrian Captain Emily Nuss 2019 emily.nuss@assumption.edu
Figure-Skating Captain Dorothy Rogers 2018 dorothy.rogers@assumption.edu
Latin Dance Captain Ambar Rosas 2019 ambar.rosassanchez@assumption.edu
Latin Dance Co-Captain Valeria Oquendo 2019 valeria.oquendo@assumption.edu
M Basketball Captain Jayson LeBranti 2020 jayson.lebranti@assumption.edu
M Basketball Co-Captain AJ Crawford 2020 andrew.crawford@assumption.edu
M Volleyball Captain Brandon Rose 2019 brandon.rose@assumption.edu
M Volleyball Co-Captain David Cifarelli 2019 david.cifarelli@assumption.edu
Martial Arts Captain Caitlin Pierson 2018 caitlin.pierson@assumption.edu
Martial Arts Co-Captain Carly Moris 2019 carly.moris@assumption.edu
Outdoor Captain Patrick Shea 2018 patrick.shea@assumption.edu
Outdoor Co-Captain Brian Canzanello 2019 brian.canzanello@assumption.edu
Ultimate Frisbee Captain David Pepin 2020 david.pepin@assumption.edu
Ultimate Frisbee Co-Captain Ian Sullivan 2020 ian.sullivan@assumption.edu
W Basketball Captain Caleigh Bryson 2018 caleigh.bryson@assumption.edu
W Basketball Co-Captain Ashley DeLucia 2020 ashley.delucia@assumption.edu
W Volleyball Captain Hannah Deegan 2018 hannah.deegan@assumption.edu
W Volleyball Co-Captain Emma Salachi 2019 emma.salachi@assumption.edu